Learning Bits of Buddhism

“Rejoicing in ordinary things is not sentimental or trite. It actually takes guts. Each time we drop our complaints and allow everyday good fortune to inspire us, we enter the warrior’s world.” – Pema Chodrn

 

In listening to a girl talk about her faith in Buddhism, I see a reflection of Christianity. I think that can be said of many faiths. It seems like a peaceful thing with good thoughts and charity. I know it’s a trendy religion today because it’s associated with “tolerance,” “non-dissension,” and it’s not the majority religion in America (my cultural lens). I can see how it’d be very appealing. There are many bits of wisdom. However, even though there are universal truths from, I’m sure, the eyes of very perceptive people….It’s…it’s…missing. It seems to be based on acts, constant work to better yourself to make yourself perfect through many lifetimes of achievement to reach Nirvana.

I don’t know about you…but I don’t think, in any reincarnation of a human, I could ever be good enough to reach Nirvana. I don’t think I could earn it. People seem to be inherently the same in humanity throughout history. Look back to cave writings and Old English Literature of yesterday’s versions of “Ralph was here” and “Mark is a sneaky bastard.”

That’s a part of what makes Christianity so beautiful. You don’t earn it. You couldn’t if you tried. It’s just…free. Like how my mom loves me. She loved me before I came into the world where, much later, I would try to honor her back. Before I made a sound. There’s this larger love. I never have to do anything to earn it. It’s just there. Always there.

I think I would miss that if I were a Buddhist.

( Don’t get me wrong, I love Buddhist people, Muslim people, Atheist people, etc. etc… I feel like I have to have that disclaimer.)

Anyways… I know what it’s like not to have a relationship with Christ and visa versa so.. If you’re not 100% sure that God is real? It’s okay. Everyone has their own path for those that want to find Him. And to be transparently clear, I don’t mean the far-off generalized term “God” in the sky. I mean Jesus. (Does that word make you uncomfortable? Good. It’s because there is power in it.) I mean His Father. I mean the Holy Spirit, who I love to feel overwhelm me during times of worship.

Those were just some things knocking around my skull tonight. What do you think? What are your opinions or views?

Alrighty. Peace out. Have a lovely day. 🙂

All the love,

Christie

Leave a Reply

